On Notice Periods…

Anirudh B Balotiaa
2 min readJun 1, 2022

--

In Dec’21, after 10+ years I moved to a different Company. My manager and I were talking about this move constantly, and when I finally made up my mind, I officially resigned and started my Notice Period.

While there is considerable excitement in starting your new job, I was firm that I would not leave in haste. I was incredibly happy in my current job and was not running “away” to a better opportunity. This part is important.

I wanted to make sure my Manager faces no disruption in my absence and that whoever will take over from me is able to perform till we find a replacement.

I scheduled hour-long handover calls, almost daily. I really wanted to ensure everyone is fully enabled to do what I was doing.

The point is, Notice Periods are tricky.

For contributing employees, which I believe I was thanks to my amazing Manager (now friend) and my Team (now friends), plan the handover along with your Manager and Team and set a date accordingly. It need not be as per Company Policy.

For non-contributing folks, it should be expedited ASAP as it serves no one, neither the candidate nor the company.

Being rigid about the notice period just cos it’s a Company Policy is something I am not very in favour of.

It needs to be a win-win for both. Relationships are for life.

--

--

Anirudh B Balotiaa

All things Ops, currently @ Tally Solutions, Bangalore, India